The Impossible Adventure

Meet Your Misadventure #1 of The Clan-Vampire Clash

Your rules, your game. You decide.

Click here for your free copy of The Impossible Adventure.


The Impossible Creation

The Clan-Vampire Clash: A Prequel

The Impossible Creation cover: A girl in a blood-red dress stands in a foggy forest cemetary at night.

A vampire with otherworldly ambitions.

A vampire hunter, adrift in a sea of grief.

And an oblivious girl, over whose fate they fight.

Devastated by grief, Lucy fled from her supernatural birthright as a vampire hunter. Now in college, she hides her superpowers from everyone except her best friend--who's a witch. When a vampire targets an innocent high school girl, Lucy must hunt again.

Can Lucy win a tug of war where the prize is a girl's life?

The Impossible Creation is a stand-alone prequel to the upcoming The Clan-Vampire Clash, a series of YA paranormal fantasy novels. If you like sinister villains, complicated superheroes, and supernatural suspense mixed with high school drama, you'll love The Impossible Creation.

Perfect for fans of Twilight, The Mortal Instruments, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Free for members of Kindle Unlimited for a limited time.

Find out what readers are calling "brilliant," "engrossing," and "a new take" today!

Other Amazon: Search by title or "B071FW6JT3".

An Uncertain Death

The Clan-Vampire Clash: Book One

'In Progress' stamped over a haunted forest at night.

Blood. Magic. Boarding School.

Lila Lee thinks she knows what she's getting into when she exchanges her imploding family for boarding school Eversfield. Impossible classes, impossible teachers, an impossible best friend providing abundant distractions, all she expects. What she doesn't expect is high school politics rivaling D.C., a frosty roommate, and a tongue-tied, mushy-minded crush on her roommate's older brother. As Lila stumbles, often literally, through heaps of homework, back-stabbing frenemies, and the dark secret her new school harbors, she wonders:

Will her first semester be her last?

Arriving Early 2018

Author Betsy Flak has always treasured compelling stories. As a child, she spent her free time lost in a book, whether upside down in a cozy armchair, in the bow of her family's fishing boat in Michigan, or on a bleacher during her brother's basketball games. As an adult, her ereader is her most trusted companion and almost never leaves her side, prepared for any spare moment. Read more...

November 2017

Here's what I'm working on this month:

  1. Finishing up self-editing of An Uncertain Death, Part 2. Starting in on Part 3.
  2. Addressing An Uncertain Death Part 1 beta reader comments.
  3. Starting in on the print readthrough of An Uncertain Death, Part 2.
  4. Analyzing what went well and what didn't during the Spooktacular Sale. Tweaking launch/promotion plans accordingly.
  5. Based on the results of the book cover design tourney, scheduling a cover designer for An Uncertain Death.

And that's it! Look for my November update to see how it went and December's goals.

Want to receive updates directly? Join The Troupe (Betsy Flak's Readers Group)!

Announcement: Blog is on break for Thanksgiving

What the title says: Blog's on break for Thanksgiving. I'll be back on for Women Crush Wednesday on Wednesday, November 29th. In the meantime, enjoy a few turkey-day gifs!

Read more