The Impossible Adventure

Meet Your Misadventure #1 of The Clan-Vampire Clash

Your rules, your game. You decide.

Click here for your free copy of The Impossible Adventure.


A Brush with Vampires

The Clan-Vampire Clash: Book One

A Brush with Vampires cover:  A girl with wild curly hair and blazing green eyes looks over her shoulder in front of a full moon over a boarding school.

TWILIGHT meets HARRY POTTER with a dash of GAME OF THRONES.

Escape from her imploding family. That's all Lila Lee wants. When her best friend negotiates a last-second invitation for Lila to join her boarding school, Lila leaps at the chance. There she finds impossible classes, mean-girl frenemies, a frosty roommate, and a tongue-tying, mind-muddling crush.

But someone—or something—lurks in the shadows. It stalks Lila's icy roommate. And her crush. And Lila too. Can Lila unlock the deadly secret before it's too late?

A Brush with Vampires is the first installment in The Clan-Vampire Clash, a series of YA paranormal fantasy novels. If you like strong female leads, sinister villains, and supernatural suspense mixed with high school drama, you'll love this addictive new series.

Perfect for fans of Twilight, Vampire Academy, and The Mortal Instruments. Part of Kindle Unlimited for a limited time.

Find out what readers are calling "a fast paced adventure," "serious good vs. evil," and "filled with plenty of thrills" today!

Start reading now!

The Impossible Creation

The Clan-Vampire Clash: A Prequel

The Impossible Creation cover: A girl in a blood-red dress stands in a foggy forest cemetery at night.

A vampire with otherworldly ambitions.

A vampire hunter, adrift in a sea of grief.

And an oblivious girl, over whose fate they fight.

Devastated by grief, Lucy fled from her supernatural birthright as a vampire hunter. Now in college, she hides her superpowers from everyone except her best friend—who's a witch. When a vampire targets an innocent high school girl, Lucy must hunt again. Can Lucy win a tug of war where the prize is a girl's life?

The Impossible Creation is a stand-alone prequel to The Clan-Vampire Clash, a series of YA paranormal fantasy novels. If you like strong female leads, sinister villains, and supernatural suspense mixed with high school drama, you'll love this addictive new series.

Perfect for fans of Twilight, The Mortal Instruments, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Part of Kindle Unlimited for a limited time.

With a 4.7 average star rating, find out what readers are calling "brilliant," "engrossing," and "a new take" today!

As a child, author Betsy Flak spent her free time lost in a book, whether upside down in a cozy armchair, in the bow of her family’s fishing boat in Michigan, or on a bleacher during her brother’s basketball games. As an adult, she loves reading and writing coming-of-age adventures filled with supernatural abilities, heart-stopping action, the battle between good and evil, and romantic interests galore. When she’s not reading, writing, or editing, you can find Betsy playing roller derby or chilling on the couch with her favorite purple blanket, her two dogs, and her husband. Learn more...

June 2018

Here's what I'm working on this month:

  1. Self-editing Book 3. Making it to that finish line!
  2. Writing, editing (x3), and finalizing at least the first installment of the Troupe-only side story. Hopefully a second installment too.
  3. Analyzing the launch of A Brush with Vampires (The Clan-Vampire Clash: Book One) for what went well and what I can improve on.

And that's it! Look for my July update to see how it went and July's goals.

Want to receive updates directly? Join The Troupe (Betsy Flak's Readers Group)!

Summer Flash Sale Round 2: The Impossible Creation is only 99c now through June 27th!

Today, I have exciting news: The Impossible Creation is on sale for 99c from today through June 27th! Consider it another "welcome to summer" gift. :) Pick it up here.

In case you need a reminder, here are the details:

Read more