The Impossible Adventure

Meet Your Misadventure #1 of The Clan-Vampire Clash

Your rules, your game. You decide.

Click here for your free copy of The Impossible Adventure.


A Brush with Vampires

The Clan-Vampire Clash: Book One

A Brush with Vampires cover:  A girl with wild curly hair and blazing green eyes looks over her shoulder in front of a full moon over a boarding school.

TWILIGHT meets HARRY POTTER with a dash of GAME OF THRONES.

Escape from her imploding family. That's all Lila Lee wants. When her best friend negotiates a last-second invitation for Lila to join her boarding school, Lila leaps at the chance. There she finds impossible classes, mean-girl frenemies, a frosty roommate, and a tongue-tying, mind-muddling crush.

But someone—or something—lurks in the shadows. It stalks Lila's icy roommate. And her crush. And Lila too.

Can Lila unlock the deadly secret before it's too late?

A Brush with Vampires is the first installment in The Clan-Vampire Clash, a series of YA paranormal fantasy novels. If you like feisty female leads, sinister villains, and supernatural suspense mixed with high school drama, you'll love this addictive new series.

Perfect for fans of Twilight, Vampire Academy, and The Mortal Instruments. Part of Kindle Unlimited for a limited time.

Find out what readers are calling "a fast paced adventure," "serious good vs. evil," and "filled with plenty of thrills" today!

Start reading now!

The Impossible Creation

The Clan-Vampire Clash: A Prequel

The Impossible Creation cover: A girl surrounded by flames brandishes a sword.

A vampire with otherworldly ambitions.

A vampire hunter, adrift in a sea of grief.

And an oblivious girl, over whose fate they fight.

Devastated by grief, Lucy fled from her supernatural birthright as a vampire hunter. Now in college, she hides her superpowers from everyone except her best friend. When a vampire targets an innocent high school girl, Lucy must hunt again.

Can Lucy win a tug of war where the prize is a girl's life?

The Impossible Creation is a stand-alone prequel to The Clan-Vampire Clash, a series of YA paranormal fantasy novels. If you like feisty female leads, sinister villains, and supernatural suspense mixed with high school drama, you'll love this addictive new series.

Perfect for fans of Twilight, The Mortal Instruments, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Part of Kindle Unlimited for a limited time.

With a 4.7 average star rating, find out what readers are calling "brilliant," "engrossing," and "a new take" today!

As a child, author Betsy Flak spent her free time lost in a book, whether upside down in a cozy armchair, in the bow of her family’s fishing boat in Michigan, or on a bleacher during her brother’s basketball games. As an adult, she loves reading and writing coming-of-age adventures filled with supernatural abilities, heart-stopping action, the battle between good and evil, and romantic interests galore. When she’s not reading, writing, or editing, you can find Betsy playing roller derby or chilling on the couch with her favorite purple blanket, her two dogs, and her husband. Learn more...

September 2018

Here's what I'm working on this month:

  1. Sending out the final draft of A Brush with Betrayal (The Clan-Vampire Clash: Book Two) to The Certain Cell (my team of advance readers).
  2. Outlining and writing the rough draft of Book Four of The Clan-Vampire Clash (title TBD).
  3. Preparing for the fall launch of A Brush with Betrayal.

And that's it! Look for my October update to see how it went and October's goals.

Want to receive updates directly? Join The Troupe (Betsy Flak's Readers Group)!

The Impossible Creation: playlist update

For those of you who have been around for a while, you know that I absolutely love making playlists for my books.

Got a plot problem? Music will solve it!

Can't figure out what such-and-such character is thinking? Time to listen to their theme song.

Generally in a grumpy mood? I'll break out my book's playlist!

So, here's the updated playlist for The Impossible Creation (The Clan-Vampire Clash: A Prequel):

Read more