The Impossible Adventure

Meet Your Misadventure #1 of The Vampire Hunters of Eversfield Academy series

Your rules, your game. You decide.

Click here for your free copy of The Impossible Adventure.


A Brush with Fire

The Vampire Hunters of Eversfield Academy: Book Four

A Brush with Fire cover: A boy with icy blue eyes brandishes a magical sword and wooden stake in front of a boarding school at night.

She's drowning in grief, her magic forgotten. He's trying to stop the carnage. Can they find a way back to each other before vampires wreak more havoc?

In the wake of last semester's tragic events, Lila is devastated. Nothing matters anymore, not after what happened. Not school. Not her friends. Not her confusing powers. Even handsome crush Gabe can't break through her haze. All she can do is survive. And she can barely do that.

Determined to stop the vampires stalking Eversfield Academy, Gabe is getting trained for his visions at last. He's also leading the Eversfield Cell of vampire hunters in patrols that keep his fellow students safe. He's investigating last semester's vampire attack and magical assault. He's helping Lila recover any way he can, even if that's only as a friend.

But a trap awaits the vampire hunters. The vampires and their magic-wielding allies have gathered together. They prepare to launch an attack for the history books, one that will send Gabe and the other vampire hunters spinning into chaos. Can Lila and Gabe stop the attack before it starts?

A Brush with Fire is the fourth book in The Vampire Hunters of Eversfield Academy YA paranormal fantasy series. If you like brave heroines overcoming the odds, page-turning supernatural suspense, and emotional slow-burn romance, then you'll love Betsy Flak's bewitching novel.

Perfect for fans of Twilight, Vampire Academy, and The Mortal Instruments series. Part of Kindle Unlimited for a limited time.

Buy A Brush with Fire to incinerate your enemies today!

Start reading A Brush with Fire now!

Note: This series was previously known as The Clan-Vampire Clash.

As a child, author Betsy Flak spent her free time lost in a book, whether upside down in a cozy armchair, in the bow of her family’s fishing boat in Michigan, or on a bleacher during her brother’s basketball games. As an adult, she loves reading and writing coming-of-age adventures filled with supernatural abilities, heart-stopping action, the battle between good and evil, and romantic interests galore. When she’s not reading, writing, or editing, you can find Betsy playing roller derby or chilling on the couch with her favorite purple blanket, her two dogs, and her husband. Learn more...

What I'm Working on Now

Cat curled around keyboard.

May 2020

Here's what I'm working on this month:

  1. Launching A Brush with Fire, Book Four of The Vampire Hunters of Eversfield Academy young adult paranormal fantasy series!
  2. Completely editing Chapters 18 through 20 of season three of Sam's story, a reader-guided stand-alone prequel of The Vampire Hunters of Eversfield Academy. Developmentally editing season four of Sam's story.
  3. Experimenting with BookBub Ads to support a launch.

And that's it! Check back in June to see what I'm working on then.

Want to receive updates directly? Join The Troupe (Betsy Flak's Readers Group)!

Freebie Friday

With the decision to close down the blog, I'm converting this post to a summary of all the freebies I've got going on. That includes: a list of the books and stories I offer for free, either to the general public or to members of my readers group, The Troupe (excluding any surprise gifts for The Troupe, which happen now and again); a link to my blog post listing 30+ free books in a variety of related genres (young adult, urban fantasy, paranormal romance, fantasy, etc); and a list of the genre-themed giveaways in which I'm currently involved.

Last updated: May 22nd, 2020

Read more